Owner rating4.6 · $54.25 · LeanScore 83
- Cost per 20 g protein
- $1.56 / 20 g
- Protein/scoop
- 24 g
- Calories/scoop
- 120
- Sugar
- ~1 g
- Protein type
- Whey blend, isolate first
- Servings
- 29
Protein & Food · Stages 1-4
6 researched · scored on one published method · Updated October 2026
Whey isolate, clear whey, plant blends and unflavored powders, compared on protein per scoop and per comfortable fluid ounce.
Has a clinician set limits on your protein, fluid, sodium or potassium?
We never ask for a condition and never store one — this is one of three words kept in this browser, and you can clear it on your device page. Nothing below is hidden either way.
The protein figures on this shelf are general reference figures from published sources and from product labels. They are not a target, they are not personalised, and nothing here adjusts them for age, kidney function, heart or blood-pressure conditions, pregnancy or anything else. A clinician is the only person who can set a number for you.
LeanFed may earn a commission from links on this page; it never changes a ranking. Full disclosure.
For most people in this situation the winner is a whey isolate or clear whey isolate with a high protein-per-100-calorie ratio and a third-party certification, bought in the smallest tub or a sample pack first. An unflavored isolate is the best second tub to own, because it lets you push protein into food you already tolerate instead of adding another drink you have to finish.
All 6 picks shown
Narrows “Every pick, reviewed” further down this page. The podium and the comparison table always show the full ranking.
Dietary statements
These match only what a listing states. A pick whose listing says nothing either way is hidden while a chip is on — that is a gap in the label, not a verdict on the product.
Before the picks
You are on a GLP-1 and food volume is now the constraint, not willpower. A powder lets you decide how much liquid a given dose of protein arrives in, which is the whole game when six ounces is a full meal. It is also the cheapest way to add protein to something you were already going to finish.
Skip powder if whole-food protein still goes down easily and you are hitting the target your clinician set. Skip it too if dairy already bothers you and you are not willing to try an isolate or a plant blend, and skip the sweet dessert flavors entirely if sweetness has become nauseating, which is common in the first weeks.
Food first, always. Nothing on this page treats, prevents or cures a side effect, and anything that touches your medication — dose, timing, whether to take something alongside it — is your prescriber's call. The Path is free and has no products in it.
Filter the full shelf by price, dietary statements and what the label actually says, before you read a single pick.
The podium
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard WheyThe pick: Editorial rank #1 — LeanScore order unless a note below says otherwise
The default tub: 24 g a scoop, everywhere, and cheap per gram.
Owner rating4.6 (99,968) · $54.25 · LeanScore 83
about $1.56 per 20 g protein
Why this one leads: It ties the shelf's highest LeanScore (83). Prices move — check the listing before you decide.
Mixing a standard whey into less liquid than the label suggests is the recurring workaround, so the same scoop fits in a glass that actually gets finished.
Paraphrased from r/Mounjarosource
Ascent Whey Protein PowderRunner-up: Second in the editorial ranking
Informed-Sport tested whey with a short ingredient list.
Owner rating4.6 (3,412) · LeanScore 83
— cost per serving not stated on the listing
Keeping one plain unflavoured isolate on hand to stir into oatmeal, soup or coffee comes up repeatedly as the way to add protein without drinking another shake.
Paraphrased from r/Zepboundsource
Orgain Organic Plant Protein PowderAlso worth it: Third in the editorial ranking — not the cheapest here
The plant option most people can actually drink daily.
Owner rating4.5 (64,931) · $29.59 · LeanScore 81
about $1.41 per 20 g protein
Taste preferences shift after starting, so the advice attached to any big tub is to try a sample size before committing to it.
Paraphrased from r/Zepboundsource
At a glance
Prices & ratings checked Oct 10, 2026
Owner rating4.6 · $54.25 · LeanScore 83
Owner rating4.6 · LeanScore 83
Owner rating4.5 · $29.59 · LeanScore 81
Owner rating4.7 · $168.99 · LeanScore 79
Owner rating4.3 · $62.99 · LeanScore 74
Owner rating4.1 · $34.97 · LeanScore 65
LeanScore is 72% owner satisfaction and 28% value, computed the same way in every category and published in full on our methodology page. It is not a lab result and not a nutrition rating. Rows are in editorial rank order, which is LeanScore order unless a note under the top row explains why we ranked it differently — the two are separate things and we never silently reorder one to match the other. Worked out from the listing's own numbers: the price we last checked, divided by the servings the label states, then scaled to 20 g of protein where protein per serving is stated. Where a listing doesn't state servings or protein, we show a dash rather than an estimate. The italic lines under a pick are paraphrased consensus from public forum threads — never quotes, never usernames — and each one links the thread it came from. LeanFed may earn a commission from links in this table; it never changes a ranking.
The full shelf
Filter by what the listings actually state. A pick that says nothing about a dietary point is hidden while that filter is on — that is a gap in the label, not a verdict on the product.

Optimum Nutrition
The default tub: 24 g a scoop, everywhere, and cheap per gram.
about $1.56 per 20 g protein
Available on subscription at the retailer.

Ascent
Informed-Sport tested whey with a short ingredient list.
— cost per serving not stated on the listing
Available on subscription at the retailer.

Orgain
The plant option most people can actually drink daily.
about $1.41 per 20 g protein
Available on subscription at the retailer.

Dymatize
Hydrolyzed isolate with almost no lactose left in it.
— cost per serving not stated on the listing
Available on subscription at the retailer.

NAKED
One ingredient, no sweetener, so it disappears into food.
about $1.68 per 20 g protein

Isopure
Juice-like and clear, for days when anything creamy feels heavy.
about $2.19 per 20 g protein
Available on subscription at the retailer.
Price we last checked ÷ servings stated on the label. A dash means the listing doesn't state it.
Applies toUnited States listings. Every price, rating and link on this page comes from the US store of the affiliate retailer we use, and nutrition labelling rules differ between countries.
On a GLP-1 the scarce resource is volume, not money and not willpower. So the first number to write down is protein per fluid ounce once the powder is mixed the way you will actually drink it. Take the grams of protein per scoop and divide by the ounces of liquid you can realistically finish. Twenty-five grams in six ounces is a little over four grams per ounce; the same scoop stretched into a 16 oz shaker is about 1.6. Same tub, same money, completely different odds that you finish it.
| Powder | Protein per serving | In 6 fl oz | In 8 fl oz | In 12 fl oz |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ascent 100% Whey | 25 g | 4.2 g | 3.1 g | 2.1 g |
| Dymatize ISO100 | 25 g | 4.2 g | 3.1 g | 2.1 g |
| NAKED Whey | 25 g | 4.2 g | 3.1 g | 2.1 g |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard | 24 g | 4.0 g | 3.0 g | 2.0 g |
| Orgain Organic Vegan | 21 g (2 scoops) | 3.5 g | 2.6 g | 1.8 g |
| Isopure Clear Whey | 20 g | 3.3 g | 2.5 g | 1.7 g |
Protein per fluid ounce once mixed. Basis: protein per serving from our spec sheet (label and listing data, read 27 September 2026) ÷ fluid ounces of liquid, rounded to one decimal; the powder adds a little volume of its own. The tub's mixing instruction is not on our spec sheet, so no row assumes one.
The second number is protein per 100 calories. Divide grams of protein by calories, then multiply by 100. Lean isolates typically land near 20 g per 100 kcal. A lower ratio does not classify a powder as a meal replacement or make it unsuitable. Compare the portion you can finish and the other nutrients on its label.
FDA does not approve dietary supplements before they go on sale. A voluntary third-party program has its own scope; check the exact product with the certifier rather than relying on a vague testing phrase in listing copy. Certification does not establish suitability for your medical needs.
Red flag: any powder marketed as something that boosts or mimics a prescription medication, or a stack that "must" be taken alongside one. These are marketing claims, not regulated categories. A protein powder is a convenient food, and that is all it needs to be.
Taste and tolerance both shift on these medications, sometimes month to month. Buy a single-serve variety pack or the smallest tub, decide over a week whether you will genuinely finish it, and only then buy the size that saves money. There is no universal daily protein target — most clinicians set one for the individual, and pairing protein with resistance training is the part the research consistently supports. Ask yours what your number is.
communityAugust 2026Paraphrased from public threads, read on that date. Not measured data — these forums give us no vote counts.
Unflavored isolate is the recurring problem-solver
Across r/Zepbound, r/Ozempic and r/Mounjaro the advice that keeps reappearing is to keep one unflavored isolate on hand and stir it into oatmeal, yogurt, soup or coffee rather than drinking another shake. People describe it as the only way to add protein on days when nothing sweet is tolerable.
Clear whey is the texture escape hatch
Thin, juice-like clear whey comes up repeatedly in r/Zepbound and r/Mounjaro from people who say creamy or milky shakes have become hard to finish. The trade-off mentioned just as often is a lower protein load per serving than a standard isolate.
Taste preference changes after starting, and stockpiling backfires
A recurring regret in these subs is buying a large tub or a full case of one flavor and then finding it unpalatable weeks later. Sample sizes and single-serve packets are the workaround people recommend to each other.
Collagen gets counted toward protein when it should not be
Collagen powder is popular in r/Ozempic threads for skin and hair reasons, and other posters regularly push back that it is an incomplete protein and should not be counted toward a daily protein goal. Both views appear in the same threads.
Mixing thicker into less liquid is the small-appetite hack
People describe mixing to a smaller volume than the label suggests, or blending powder into an already-protein-containing milk, specifically to get the same protein into fewer ounces. Others do the opposite and stretch it across a large bottle to sip all day.
Paraphrased consensus from 54 threads · r/GLP1, r/Mounjaro, r/Zepbound · August 2026. We summarise what comes up repeatedly and link the threads — we never quote or identify anyone, and these forums don't give us vote counts, so treat this as the shape of the conversation rather than a measured majority.
How we chose: We compared published nutrition panels, ingredient lists and certification claims, then read owner-review themes for texture, mixability and aftertaste. We recalculated every product to protein per 100 calories and protein per fluid ounce at the label's own mixing instructions so the comparison is apples to apples. We do not taste-test products and we do not run lab assays; where a claim is the manufacturer's, we say so.
Questions we keep getting
There is no number this page can give you. The Daily Value on a Nutrition Facts label is 50 grams, and FDA notes that figure assumes a 2,000-calorie diet and that your own value may be higher or lower. Ask your clinician for a target, then use this shelf to reach it.
It is the protein in a scoop divided by the ounces of liquid you will actually finish. A 25 gram scoop is about 4.2 grams per ounce in 6 ounces of water and about 2.1 grams in 12. When volume is the ceiling rather than appetite, the denser mix is the one that reaches you.
Isolate is filtered further than concentrate, so more of the lactose is removed, and hydrolysed isolate is broken down further again. That is the direction to move if whey has been a problem, and it costs more per gram. Persistent gut symptoms are a conversation with your clinician, not a shopping decision.
It is marketing language, not a regulated category. FDA does not approve dietary supplements before they are marketed, so nothing has been reviewed against that claim. In practice the tub behind it is usually an ordinary whey isolate at a higher price. Compare it on protein per 100 calories like anything else.
That a voluntary third-party programme has verified the contents. It matters because FDA does not approve supplements before they go on sale, so certification is the only check on the tub that the manufacturer did not write. Two picks here carry one: Ascent states Informed Choice, NAKED Whey states NSF.
The tag says what kind of source a link is; the year is the revision or publication year the page itself states, and is left off where the page states none. Every URL here was opened and read — a source list proves a page loads, not that it says what we claim, so we check the second part by hand.
Read alongside
We do not test products — we compare labels, specifications and owner reviews. Prices and ratings shown are the most recent values we pulled from affiliate retailers and refresh on a recurring cycle; confirm the current price and read the product's own label before buying. See how we score.